Alumni Achievements

The Rollins School of Public Health Alumni Association presents two annual awards to recognize the outstanding contributions they have made in preventing disease, promoting and protecting public health.

Distinguished Achievement Award

Jodie GuestEach year, Rollins presents an award to an alumnus/a who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of public health.

The 2021-2022 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipient is Jodie L. Guest, PhD, MPH.

Matthew Lee Girvin Award

Alvin Tran This award honors the memory of Matthew Girvin, '94 MPH GH, who died in January 2001 while serving on a United Nations surveying mission.

The 2021-2022 Matthew Lee Girvin Award Recipient is Alvin Tran, ScD, MPH.

We invite you to join Dean Daniele Fallin in honoring these extraordinary alumni at a special ceremony and reception on Thursday, October 27, 2022. RSVP at

Michael H. Kutner Alumni Award for Distinguished Service to the Discipline

An award given annually to an alumnus/a from the Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics for distinguished service to the profession. Recipients are chosen by the department each spring.

The Emory Medal

The highest honor given to Emory alumni, the Emory Medal recognizes service to Emory, the Emory Alumni Association, or a constituent alumni association, service to the community, and achievement in business, the arts, the professions, government, or education. 

The J. Pollard Turman Alumni Service Award

This award recognizes an alumnus/a for exceptional volunteer leadership to Emory through alumni organizations, regional clubs, class programs, and other related groups.  Recipients are honored for their leadership roles through the Alumni Association, developing and enhancing alumni activities, and volunteering time and expertise through service on behalf of Emory.

The Sheth Distinguished International Alumni Award

This awards seeks to recognize Emory University's international alumni who have distinguished themselves in service to universities, governments, private sector firms, and nongovernmental organizations. 

Unsung Heroine Award

These awards honor women who have taken substantial risks to challenge sexism, trailblazed in previously male-dominated environments, promoted safety, justice, and equity for girls and women through community service, and served as a role model or mentor for girls or women. To learn more, visit the Center for Women website.